top of page

Easy Whole-Wheat Waffles (you can actually feel good feeding your family!)


I was just about to Instagram about the double-batch I made of these this morning, then I realized I never did a blog post

on these awesome waffles. I'm sorry I've been keeping them from you!

Regular store-bought waffles are full of saturated fats, additives, preservatives, sugars, and unfortunately, artificial coloring. The flour used is also 'enriched', which means it's been stripped of everything good, like the healthy oils and fiber, then they process artificial nutrients and vitamins back into the flour to make it last longer. All to save them $.

Never mind the fact that they actually taste like cardboard unless you drench them in syrup (hopefully it's not pancake syrup - yikes!) but for most people, that's exactly what happens. What a bunch of junk and sugar for breakfast. No wonder kids are falling asleep!

These waffles actually have a great taste (without needing syrup) to them, thanks to the cinnamon, but of course some 100% pure maple syrup - check the label! - makes them 100 times better :)

Here are some waffles you can feel good feeding your kids for breakfast, and you can even freeze them! I usually make a double batch on a weekend morning (like I did this morning) then freeze the extras in 2-triagle piles for easy removal from freezer.

But these aren't just for breakfast - my kids LOVE to eat these as waffle sandwiches - which is simply 2 waffles pieces sandwiched together with cream cheese, cinnamon, and raisins. So easy and yummy!

Enjoy, and if you have another use for them, comment below and let me know!

EASY WHOLE WHEAT WAFFLES

INGREDIENTS

2 large eggs

1 3/4 cups milk (we use WHOLE milk)

1/4 cup oil (I've used both melted butter and olive oil)

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (sometimes I add 1 teaspoon if I'm feeling cinnamon-y)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour (I use King Arthur's)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat your waffle iron.

  2. In a large mixing bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, oil, honey, cinnamon, and baking soda until well combined.

  3. Add in the flour, baking powder, and salt and whisk together just until the large lumps disappear.

  4. When the waffle iron is hot, dab it with a little butter and then ladle some batter onto the center of the iron (I use 1 whole ladle-full). Follow the instructions that came with your waffle maker to know how long it should be cooked (mine takes about 3 - 4 minutes each).

  5. Keep waffles warm until you finish cooking all of them. Top with pure maple syrup and fruit. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page