top of page

Homemade {healthy} Donuts!? with Chocolate Sauce recipe

When you learn the effects of sugar, a donut just doesn't look as appealing as it used to. It's one of the worst day-starter breakfasts you can have, because it'll give you a massive sugar high, then a huge sugar low, causing exhaustion, moodiness and will make you crave sweet food the rest of the day (and don't forget making you want to fall asleep at 10am)

However, thanks to these little guys, you can still enjoy the convenience of a donut, but in a healthy way. This recipe does mean you'll have to invest in a donut maker if you don't already have one. But if you have kids, it'll be worth it.

The nice thing about these is you can make a bunch out of one batch, so they are quick to make a lot, AND you can freeze them for an on-the-go breakfast option. Both recipes use just about the same ingredients, so I get out 2 large mixing bowls, and make them side-by-side before putting them into the donut maker. You don't have to 'clean' the donut maker in between plain and chocolate donuts, so it's nice - you can get 2 differnet flavors made quickly.

A side note - you'll notice you can use either coconut oil or olive oil. If you're not into a coconut oil taste, I'd recommend the olive oil. I'm sure you could also sub grass-fed unsalted butter in it's place, but I haven't tried it yet. I've made these donuts both ways, and I prefer the coconut oil while my hubby prefers the olive oil. Just a heads up :)

Who says you can't have DONUTS when eating clean?!

I tell you what, you will be amazed. These are DELICIOUS!

For Christmas this year, I asked for a lot of kitchen items. Actually, to make it easy on the hubby, I put a lot of things I wanted in our Amazon.com cart, and let him pick out what he wanted to get me. Somehow I knew this donut maker was going to make the cut ;) (BTW, Amazon Prime is amazing.)

To be honest, this recipe couldn't be easier. Even when I got my waffle maker years back, I badly burned and created really bad waffles the first couple tries. It took me several waffle mornings to get it right. This time, I literally cut the seal of the box, took the donut maker out, plugged it in for the first time, and what you see below is the product.

I'm still amazed. I thought for sure I was going to screw up the timing or something, but they came out perfect.

And as you can see, I made both recipes. Give or take about 4 *test* donuts, this is what you'll get. What's really nice is that you don't need to clean the donut maker in between, so going from regular batter to chocolate was no different than spooning more batter.

Also, I was afraid what might happen if I take the time to spoon 2 tablespoons of batter, so what I did was take a big serving spoon, put 2 tablespoons of batter to see what it looked like, then I just eyeballed the amount of batter onto the big spoon each time. Some had a little more than others, but it didn't make much difference. That extra batter just cooked on the side nice and crispy and I simply tore it off when the donuts were done.

The hubby is working from home today, so he got to try the first batch. Although I love them just the way they are, he is super picky and could taste the coconut oil, which he's not a fan of (I'm pretty certain he sees the jar of coconut oil out and automatically tastes it, ;) so it's hard to tell if he actually notices it, or is just being difficult. You can replace the coconut oil for olive oil if you're not into the coconut oil taste.

To make things even better, (at least in my book), I finally had the chance to sub an egg replacement (I forgot we were out of eggs AFTER I began making the batter), and I've been dying to try this substitution.

DID YOU KNOW you can sub 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed and 3 tablespoons of water for 1 egg?

I thought NO WAY in heck, but you know what, that's exactly what I did for these donuts, and they turned out great! I'll be excited to try these with donuts made with egg to compare, but I was shocked. You can't even taste the nuttiness of the flax seed (PLUS, I didn't tell the hubby, and he never made a comment....secrets of the picky-husband's wife) :)

Also, you can top these with toppings of your or your family's choice. I whipped up some dark chocolate sauce super fast while one set was cooking - you can see the top donut has the sauce on it. I mean, it's no Country Cousin's Bakery Chocolate Long John, but it's a doable sub when you are trying to eat right (and save the real thing for an occasional treat!) I made one up with chocolate sauce and coconut shavings. YUM.

I hope you enjoy these. I'd love to know how they turned out! If you don't have a donut maker, it's well worth the $40 investment if you think your family will love these. I don't know what I'd do without my waffle maker, and I'm sure this appliance will be on that same list. Here's the exact one Santa brought me. :)

Enjoy!

HOMEMADE {HEALTHY} DONUTS

(FOR THE MINI DONUT-MAKER)

(2 WAYS - ORIGINAL AND CHOCOLATE) FROM 100 DAYS OF REAL FOOD

Original Flavor

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour

  • 3 tsp baking powder

  • 1 egg (sub 1 tbsp ground flaxseed and 3 tbsp water if you don't have an egg)

  • ½ cup milk

  • ¼ cup pure maple syrup

  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 4 tablespoons melted coconut oil (or olive oil)

Chocolate Flavor

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour

  • 3 tsp baking powder

  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa (we prefer "special dark" 100% cacao)

  • 1 egg (sub 1 tbsp ground flaxseed and 3 tbsp water if you don't have an egg)

  • ½ cup milk

  • ¼ cup pure maple syrup

  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 4 tablespoons melted coconut oil (or olive oil)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Whisk together the dry ingredients.

  2. Make a well (hole) in the middle and drop in the egg, milk, syrup, vanilla, and coconut oil.

  3. Stir together with a fork until well combined.

  4. Follow manufacturer directions to make donuts using the batter. I cooked for about 3 minutes and they turned out great.

  5. Serve donuts or freeze for another day!

CHOCOLATE SAUCE

  • 3 heaping tablespoons unsweetened powdered 100% cacao (I use Hershey's Special Dark)

  • 6 tablespoons 100% pure maple syrup

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Simply blend the powdered cacao and maple syrup together with a spoon until the mixture looks “wet.” It may take a few minutes to achieve the right consistency.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page