top of page

Healthy Homemade Hamburger Helper


This past Friday I was so focused on cleaning & laundry that I totally forgot to thaw out the meat for the dinner I had planned. I didn't want to do pizza, as we had just had it on Wednesday at a friend's house, and I knew we would be having pizza tomorrow at a birthday party. So, I quickly looked online for a quick HEALTHY ground beef recipe and I stumbled upon this one. Fortunately, my family didn't grow up on the unhealthy Betty Crocker's Hamburger Helper, so I really can't remember what that stuff tastes like. However, this homemade version is pretty darn good (and quick - started searching at 5pm and it was on the table at 6!)

BTW, do you know what's in the original version? Hint: It's NOT just cheese, beef and noodles.

Here's a list of what actually is in that stuff, and hopefully this will inspire you to consider the Clean Eating lifestyle even more. :)

  • Partially hydrogenated oils (trans fat)

  • MSG and Yeast Extract

  • Refined Grains

  • Fake food dyes

  • Caramel Coloring

  • Malodextrin

  • Added sugar

  • Sulfiting agents

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

  • A ton of sodium

I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand as it includes ingredients that I almost always have on hand. Chad really liked it, and as soon as Elle took her first bite, she told me "Mommy, this really good. This my favorite. Mmmm!" I can't beat that! :) She's VERY picky when it comes to meat, so I was delighted when she chowed down on this.

Healthy Homemade Hamburger Helper

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 pound ground beef (local grass-fed preferred)

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked whole wheat penne pasta - really any pasta will do, as long as it is one ingredient.

  • 2 cups milk (whole always preferred)

  • 1/2 cup water

  • 2 Tbsp whole wheat white flour (I use Bob's Red Mill)

  • 1/4 tsp onion salt

  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

  • 1/4 tsp paprika

  • 3/4 cup sharp cheddar cubes OR freshly shredded sharp cheddar (I used Organic Valley Raw Sharp Cheddar, about 1/2 the block)

  • salt to taste - I use pink himalayan

  • fresh cracked black pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Brown beef in skillet and drain. Take pan off burner and add pasta, spices, flour, and cheese.

  2. Stir in milk and water, mix to combine. Return to burner over medium-high heat.

  3. Bring mixture just to a boil, then reduce heat to a light simmer. Stir frequently.

  4. Place a lid over the skillet, and allow to simmer until pasta is cooked, about 10-15 minutes stirring frequently and adjusting heat as needed.

  5. Add salt/pepper to taste.

  6. Let sit about 5-10 minutes to thicken before serving.

Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page