top of page

Homemade Broccoli Cheddar Soup (with bacon!)

Not to brag here, but I completely impressed myself with how tastey this soup is. My hubby even thought it was amazing - and that's a huge win in my book! This soup seriously has NOTHING on Panera's soup - it's SO much better! It's the perfect soup for these cold, winter days. I made this over the weekend, and I'm already craving it again.

**I used my homemade chicken stock for this recipe (I'll post that recipe soon). I highly recommend making your own, as it adds loads of nutritional and immune-boosting benefits... perfect for cold & flu season!

Homemade Broccoli Cheddar Soup (with bacon!)

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 slices raw bacon, cut into 1-inch pieces (I use Applegate from Kroger)

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • ¼ cup diced onion

  • 3 tablespoons whole wheat flour

  • 1 bunch raw broccoli, cut into 2-inch pieces

  • 4 cups chicken broth (homemade recommended)

  • 1 cup milk

  • ½ teaspoon salt (use pink Himalayan sea salt for added nutrients!)

  • Pepper, to taste

  • ½ cup heavy cream

  • 1 cup freshly shredded cheddar cheese (I actually used 2 cups of cheese, as I was trying to hide the onion taste for my super picky hubby. I buy a block and shred it myself. It doesn't take long at all, and keeps to my 'less than 5 ingredient' rule.

  • Optional garnish: Extra cooked bacon & shredded cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

  • In a large soup pot over medium heat, cook the bacon pieces until brown and crisp, about 3 to 4 minutes.

  • Add the olive oil and diced onion and allow it to cook and soften for another minute.

  • Turn to medium-low, whisk in the flour, and cook while stirring for 1 to 2 minutes being careful not to let the flour burn.

  • Add the broccoli pieces, broth, milk, salt, and pepper to the pot. Bring to a boil and then simmer on medium-low for 10 minutes.

  • Blend until smooth with a hand immersion blender (or by transferring to a countertop blender in batches).

  • Stir in the heavy cream and shredded cheese and serve warm. (You can freeze any leftovers.)

(recipe adapted from 100daysofrealfood.com)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page