top of page

Veggie Stir-fry with Quinoa & Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

I've posted about this recipe before, but since I am slowly adding my recipes to my page, I thought I would post another, with an updated picture. This is my GO-TO quick (and favorite) super simple meal that I make. And if you are not into quinoa, or haven't ventured there yet, brown rice is a great replacement! Just try to stay away from white rice, as it's a complex carbohydrate, and turns to sugar in your body. Brown rice contains fiber and other healthy oils to help you feel full and STAY full. (It was a big day when I switched from white rice to brown at Chipotle, haha!) I'm sure there'll be a post about this later on. If you attend my First 20 to Non-processed class you'll learn all about it!

Here are some reasons why this is one of my favorite meals:

1. It's just plain yummy! Trust me, I was never a huge veggie eater, but after I tried it with my teriyaki sauce, it's just heavenly and I scarf this meal down & look forward to the next one!

2. Elle and I enjoy it so much - but for totally different reasons. She loves the taste and the snap peas' "crunch". I love it, because I watch in amazement and keep telling myself, "Oh My God, she is happily eating these veggies!" It's loaded with veggies (usually broccoli, squash, snap peas, red, green, and yellow peppers, asparagus, PLUS the amazing quinoa) - what mother wouldn't watch in amazement their child literally scarfing them down? Much pride is felt during and after this dinner!

3. It's great for leftover lunch the next day (although this rarely happens, as Elle and I usually have seconds!)

4. Although you may not see protein, it's in there. Quinoa is actually a great source of it! So I don't have to spend the extra time with chicken, beef or fish (although they'd be great additions!)

5. It's quick. I always have some quinoa in the fridge, and stir-frying veggies is a super efficient process (esp when you buy the pre-cut & packaged veggies!). Also, to make the teriyaki sauce, you just throw all the ingredients together at the beginning and let it simmer!

I promise you, it may seem like this takes a while to make at first, but once you do it, you'll know exactly how to make it faster. I usually have my quinoa made up at the beginning of the week (since I add it to everything I can), so I can usually skip that step during the week. And remember, this is my 'quick' meal, so I buy the pre-cut and pre-packaged veggies from Whole Foods. Don't forget that you can use pretty much any veggie that you have!

**And further proof of how much Elle & I love this meal - that's her hand in the picture. She couldn't wait for me to take a pic to grab her asparagus!**

Veggie Stir-fry with Quinoa and Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

INGREDIENTS

Teriyaki Sauce

  • ¼ cup soy sauce, low sodium recommended

  • ¾ cup water

  • 1 tbsp ginger (I've used both ground & fresh-grated, both taste great!)

  • 2 tbsp raw honey

Stir-Fry

  • Premade Veggie Stir-fry (I get mine from Whole Foods), or any chopped veggies that you have.

  • oil (I use olive oil)

  • Quinoa (or brown rice)

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Start the quinoa according to directions on the package.

  • To make the sauce combine soy sauce, water, ginger & honey in a small pot over high heat. Bring to a boil and then keep on a low simmer while you prepare the rest of the meal (& enjoy the aroma!)

  • In a large skillet, heat oil on med high heat and add veggies. Saute until veggies become softer, then add in teriyaki sauce and saute for a few more minutes. (I usually save some teriyaki sauce to pour onto my plate as well as a 'finisher'.

  • There are two ways I like to plate this meal - 1. Mix veggies and quinoa in a bowl and combine it all, OR 2. Place the veggies on a bed of quinoa. Either way, you can't lose!

  • Enjoy!

Don't forget to comment below and let me know how yours turned out!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page