top of page

DIY Dryer Sheets {non-toxic & only 2 ingredients!}

You know when you get your kid's fleece jammies out of the dryer, and there is a wash cloth clinging on for dear life, and you know it's going to be electrical chaos when you try to pry them apart? That's been my life, until now.

I had been using Mrs. Meyers Clean Day dryer sheets, and although they are a 'safer' choice and are scented with essential oils, it just wasn't doing a darn thing when it came to static. I would find the dryer sheet bundled up in my lint filter. Hmm..

I honestly believe my hubby thinks I'm CRAZY. I have been SO excited about NO STATIC CLING this whole weekend, and it keeps going strong. I even asked him to come and see for himself in the dryer itself.

I'm not kidding - You NEED to try this!

I've even done my own 'trials' with really bad (read: static-producing) clothes.

Load #1 - Mine and the hubby's clothes, with my fleece pullover that ALWAYS creates static madness. Result: NONE!

Load #2 - Kids clothes, with fleece jammies and blankets. PARENTS: Ya'll know how much static those suckers create. Result: NONE!

Load #3 - Towels. A big load. Result: NONE!

The hubby even commented how much softer they are.

AND don't be fooled - they do NOT come out smelling like vinegar. My hubby (who can't stand the smell of vinegar and can smell it a mile away) was very cautious about this. I gave him the smell test - He approved!

Again, this is a Wellness Mama find. In the comment section there, you'll find some good essential oil combos. I like to stick with Lemon, since my DIY cleaners use Lemon and also my DIY Laundry Detergent.

I decided to try out her recipe since she mentioned that this recipe PLUS wool dryer balls were her perfect combination. I already use these wool dryer balls, so I figured this was the one to try.

I've seen other recommendations, such as throwing in a waddled up piece of aluminum foil (didn't see many success stories on this), using wool dryer balls alone (they do make clothes softer and shorten drying time, but didn't help with static), and a tennis ball. I personally feel a tennis ball would add more toxins and a weird plastic smell, so I didn't go that route.

This is absolutely the perfect combination!

DIY Dryer Sheets

Cloth baby wipes or old rags/cloth (I use these)

1 cup vinegar

25+ drops essential oil of choice (I personally use this) I use 25 drops, but you can absolutely use more if desired.

Glass spray bottle (preferably Amber color if using essential oils.. I use this - though I hope to order a bigger spray bottle soon. I have at least a cup of extra mixture that won't fit in this small bottle.)

Place wipes in a jar/container. Mix vinegar and EO of choice - shake to combine.

When ready to dry:

Generously spray each side (I spray about 6-8 pumps on each side) of 1 wipe and toss it in the dryer. Voila!

After drying: Put cloth back in container until next time.

**The Wellness Mama directions were to spray the wipes ahead of time. It doesn't take but a few seconds to spray before each load, so I choose to just store my wipes and spray each time. Either way, you should have great results!

The vinegar smell goes away and you're left with freshness, softness and no friction.

Wool dryer balls and these dryer sheets are my perfect combination. What's yours? I'd love to hear your DIY *no-static* results!

While you're at it, try out my DIY Laundry Detergent!

Good luck!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page